What’s in a Number? Part 1

What do Fireball Roberts, Bobby Allison, Joey Logano, Brad Keselowski, Ryan Blaney and Scott Speed all in have in common?

I’ll give you a couple seconds to think about the answer.

In the meantime, allow me to introduce a new series we’ll be running here on Splash ‘n Go every Wednesday for the next 10 weeks. Starting today, we’ll be revealing the top-10 car numbers in NASCAR’s three national series (i.e., NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series) by wins in points races.

In order to do this, we’ve added together all the race wins each car number has had in each of the three national series. This week we unveil the car number with the 10th most wins to its credit – the No. 22.

Now, about the question at the beginning of this article – do you know what the common thread between all those drivers is? If you guessed they all have at least one win in the No. 22 car in one of the three national series, you would be correct.

In fact, they are just six of the 14 different drivers who have won while at the helm of the No. 22 race car. The other eight drivers are Red Byron, Chuck Stevenson, Dick Brooks, Ward Burton, Kurt Busch, Rick Mast, A.J. Allmendinger and Joey Coulter.

In all, these 14 drivers have compiled a total of 114 wins in the top three series (only nine numbers have more wins). The No. 22 car has shown up in Victory Lane in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series since the very beginning, when Red Byron won in only the series’ second race (back in 1949). The last driver to celebrate in the premier series was the victor of the 2015 Daytona 500 – Joey Logano (see above photo).

Eight of the 14 drivers have piloted the No. 22 to 65 wins in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. Roberts leads all premier series drivers with 30 victories behind the car’s steering wheel. Allison is second with 17, followed by Logano with seven, Burton with five and Byron and Busch both with two. Stevenson and Brooks each have one win apiece.

In addition to their victories, both Byron and Allison have NASCAR Sprint Cup Series titles in the No. 22 car. Byron won the series’ inaugural championship in 1949, while Allison won six races in the No. 22 Miller High Life car in 1983 to win that season’s championship.

The most recent victory in the No. 22 car, regardless of the three series, came in the NASCAR XFINITY race on Friday, July 10, 2015, when Keselowski powered his Ford to a 0.241-second victory. The win was his 26th in the series. Rick Mast has nine wins in the series in the No. 22 car, while Logano has six, and A.J. Allmendinger and Blaney both have two. Allison and Busch each have one win apiece to total 47 wins by drivers in the No. 22.

Only two drivers have ever won a NASCAR Camping World Truck event in the No. 22 truck, and they both have won once – Speed and Joey Coulter.

With Logano currently piloting the No. 22 Ford, and the trio of Logano, Keselowski and Blaney sharing time in the car in the second series, don’t be too surprised if this car number starts ascending the rankings.

Check back next week to see which car number is ninth on the list of numbers with the most wins.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

« »
Lionel Racing

© 2020 Lionel NASCAR Collectibles. All rights reserved. Shop Die-cast, Apparel, and More at LionelRacing.com!

NASCAR, Inc. is not a sponsor of this blog. NASCAR® is a registered trademark of the National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc.