Last May, shortly after the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2016 was announced we listed our top-five picks for the Class of 2017. With the Class of 2016 induction ceremony now in the rear-view window, it’s time to look ahead.

After reviewing our picks for the 2017 class again, we’ve decided to stick with what we originally put forth. For those who do not remember our picks, they were Red Byron, Rick Hendrick, Benny Parsons, Mike Stefanik and Robert Yates. If you want to read why we selected these five individuals or if you want to verify that we’re not lying to you about our previous picks, you can click here to access the full article.

Instead of delving more into why we made our choices for the Class of 2017, we’ve decided to look at five people currently driving (or on a team) in the sport who we think have a chance to one day become a first-time ballot NASCAR Hall of Famer.

We briefly thought about extending this list to include drivers who competed last year so that we could include Jeff Gordon. There’s no question in our minds that the first year he’s eligible he’ll be voted into the Hall.

If we leave out your favorite driver, crew chief or gasman doesn’t mean we don’t think they won’t one day get enshrined into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. They might get inducted and we’re cool with that and they probably should, but as of this moment these are our guesses as to who we feel will be voted in on their first ballots.

Tony Stewart

It’s hard to deny a three-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion entry into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Of the nine drivers to win three or more titles in the premier series six of them are already in the NASCAR Hall of Fame (Richard Petty, Dale Earnhardt, Darrell Waltrip, Cale Yarborough, David Pearson and Lee Petty). Jimmie Johnson and Gordon are the two that are not yet in the Hall, but they will be. In 2011, Smoke was the first owner-driver in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series to win a championship in 19 years. His 48 wins ties him with Herb Thomas (a 2013 NASCAR Hall of Fame inductee) for 13th on the all-time wins list.

Jimmie Johnson

With six NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championships under his belt (five of them consecutively), it’s laughable to even joke that Jimmie Johnson won’t be a first-ballot Hall of Famer. He could retire right now and be in the hall in five years, no questions asked. However, we’re glad he’s still driving and fighting for his seventh title, which would place him at the top of the list with the likes of Richard Petty and Earnhardt. He currently ranks eighth on the all-time wins list with 75 (one win behind the Intimidator) and will most likely add to that total this upcoming season and beyond. More resume-building material is the fact that in 2009 Johnson was the first race car driver named AP Male Athlete of the Year.

Kyle Busch

As of right now, Kyle Busch only has one championship in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, which came after an other-worldly comeback in 2015. However, he’s not a shoe-in just because of his success in the top series, but because of his success in all three of NASCAR’s national series. Between all three series, he has the second-most combined wins with 154, behind only Richard Petty (200). His 76 wins in the NASCAR XFINITY Series is tops in the series to go along with the 2009 championship. He’s second in series wins in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series with 44. He has 34 wins in the premier series, good for 21st. In addition, Busch is a four-time owner champion in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (2010, 2013-15).

Kevin Harvick

Like Busch, Harvick has won championships in NASCAR’s top-two series. He won the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series title in 2014 and the NASCAR XFINITY Series crown in 2001 and 2006. He is also a multi-winning champion owner in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series with titles in 2007, 2009 and 2011. Harvick is eighth on the all-time combined wins list, posting 91 total wins (31 in NSCS, 46 in NXS, 14 in NCWTS). His 46 victories in the second series is good for third all-time in the series. Prior to making it to NASCAR’s national stage, he claimed the 1998 NASCAR K&N Pro Series West title. You can add winning the 2007 Daytona 500 to his long list of credits.

Chad Knaus

Obviously, Chad Knaus is not a driver, but as a crew chief, he’s as good as they come (past or present). And that alone makes him a first-ballot hall of famer. Knaus and Johnson first teamed up in 2002. Fifteen seasons later, they’re still together and winning races each year by the handful. He and Johnson have finished in the top five in the final points standings in 11 of their 14 seasons together and have competed in every Chase since the format debuted in 2004. All six of Johnson’s titles have come with Knaus atop the pit box. Knaus is the first crew chief in history to win five consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championships.